Obtaining transfer matrix using diagHermitian in iDMRG

Hello,

I am studying a spin system using the idmrg.h file and trying to construct the transfer matrix to determine the correlation length of the system. I can construct the transfer matrix (bond dimension is around 50-80) with no issues. Once I pass the order 4 tensor to diagHermitian, the 1st eigenvalue is not 1 (In my case =0.403) but the state is normalized. Below is a snippet of how I construct the transfer matrix. Any help is appreciated, I can provide more details if needed.

`
auto wf_lower = prime(wf(0)*wf(1),β€œSite”);
auto wf_upper = dag(prime(wf(0)*wf(1)));

//Loop over wf sites to make lower and upper part of contraction diagram:
for(int i = 2;i <= N; i+=1)
{
    wf_lower *= prime(wf(i),"Site");
}
for(int i = 2;i <= N; i +=1)
{
    wf_upper *= dag(prime(wf(i)));
}

//Make Transfer Matrix

auto T = wf_lower*wf_upper;
print(T);  

`

1 Like

Thanks for the question. One issue here may be that the transfer matrix is not Hermitian. Typically for this reason its eigenvalues are found using the Arnoldi algorithm for this reason.

We have an implementation of arnoldi in ITensor which you can find here:
<https://github.com/ITensor/ITensor/blob/45bf86103b232f6b0d9992137253945f44e2a2f3/itensor/iterativesolvers.h#L715>
It’s not documented but basically you pass an object A which implements a method A.product(ITensor const& input, ITensor & output) that internally multiplies an ITensor β€œinput” by the transfer matrix and writes the result to the ITensor β€œoutput”. (This approach actually lets you avoid bond dimension to the power of 4 scaling, because you can contract the MPS tensors one by one onto the eigenvector.) You also pass a std::vector of ITensors corresponding to the initial guesses of the eigenvectors you want to find. The returned output are the largest magnitude eigenvalues and I believe the eigenvectors also get overwritten with the converged ones.

Hi Miles, thanks for the fast response.