create particular mixed state

Hello everyone,

I am new to using ITensors so forgive me if I ask something simple.

I want to use purification to construct a thermal density matrix. In my specific case I think I can bypass the imaginary time evolution because the state is very close to a product state. In particular let H_{x,x+1} = H_x \otimes H_{x+1} be the local (two sites) Hilbert space. I have a spin 1/2 so H_x = \text{span}\{\ket{\uparrow}, \ket{\downarrow}\} for all x. Let us say we have 2N sites in total so that on odd sites there is the physical degree of freedom while on even sites I put the ancilla. I have to construct the following density matrix (apart an overall normalisation factor)

\rho \propto \prod_{x=1}^{N-1}\left(a\ket{\uparrow_x \uparrow_{x+1}} + b\ket{\downarrow_x \downarrow_{x+1}}\right)\left(a^*\bra{\uparrow_x \uparrow_{x+1}} + b^*\bra{\downarrow_x \downarrow_{x+1}}\right)

where a,b are two complex constants. I would expect this to be relatively easy since constructing an MPS representation of a product state is easy using the function MPS. However I am having some troubles because I am not able to construct the elementary factors

\ket{\psi_x}=a\ket{\uparrow_x \uparrow_{x+1}} + b\ket{\downarrow_x \downarrow_{x+1}}

and combine them into a density matrix without having Julia complaining about memory issues. I will really appreciate help and some explanation of it.

Eventually then, I will want to do the time evolution of this state and compute

\rho(t) = e^{i H t} \rho e^{-i H t}

and to do this I will construct appropriate ITensor gates and use the apply function. I was able to run the time evolution for simple product states as Neel states \ket{\uparrow \downarrow\dots \uparrow\downarrow} so the rest of my code works. The only problem I have is to construct the initial state above.

I really thank you for the help!

Giuseppe

Hello Giuseppe,