Contracting supervector

Hi,
I’m writing a density matrix as a supervector, e.g. density matrix of a N-site system is described by a 2N-site array where half of the array is the bra and the other is ket. I want to compute the trace of this density matrix by contracting the physical indices of one-half of the supervector with the other half. I would appreciate if someone can show me how to implement such action in C++, I’m new to Itensor. Thank you.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for the interesting question. Here are some thoughts and helpful suggestions:

If it’s possible for you to use the Julia version of ITensor instead, it has a lot more tools at this point to do the kind of thing you are asking about. In particular there are nice tools to work with MPOs, which is equivalent to the kind of representation you are talking about.

To clarify your question, have you already made this supervector in code and you are just asking about how to perform the trace? If so, how are you representing this supervector? As an MPS?

Or is your question about doing all of the above?

Thanks,
Miles

My strategy is to represent the supervector as an MPS, the Liouvillian as a non-Hermitian MPO and apply TDVP. I already managed to complete all those steps but am still thinking how to contract the MPS with itself, which is equivalent to taking the trace.

I also appreciate if there are complete tools for solving the Lindblad equations for dissipative interacting 1D systems.

Best,
Duy

Hi Duy,
Regarding tools to solve the Lindblad equations, would you mind posting the equation you are trying to solve? I haven’t worked with open systems much myself so I often forget the formulation. If I recall correctly, the steady state can be found by evolving by the L superoperator so maybe that’s something that can be done easily enough with existing ITensor tools.