String correlation function in S=1 chains

Hi,
I am new to iTensor, so forgive me if my question has already been addressed before, I could not find it from searching the categories. I see a couple of very nicely written posts on computing Neel-type Correlation functions like <psi | Sz_i Sz_j |psi> where (i,j) indicates site indices like in (ITensor). However for S=1 chains , if we are interested in String correlation functions of the kind <psi | S_k * exp(i pi \sum_{j=k+1 to m-1} S_j) * S_m | psi> where * is tensor product to indicate different spin space, then what is the protocol/command to implement the MPO of such an operator and contract it against a given MPS (say |psi>). I am using the Julia version of iTensor. Here are few thoughts that I have

1. Since each term in the exponential commutes with one another and hence the sum in the exponential can be broken down into product of exponential acting on individual spin spaces , one can now write the exponential of individual S=1 operators using Rodrigues expansion (which involves identity, the operator and its square). (Rodrigues' rotation formula - Wikipedia). However , I feel may be a more direct approach exists.

2. If all Sk operators are Sz, then Is it somehow possible to build MPO s of the form exp (i pi Sz_k) directly for S=1 just as Sz_k can be built directly using ampo op(sites,“Sz”,k). The operator is diagonal, with diagonal elements exponentiated, so I feel there might be simple ways of doing it in Julia version of iTensor atleast for the Sz case

Any help /pointers will be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance

Hi Manas,
Good question. Many approaches are possible here. How complicated you want to get may depend on whether you want the string correlation function for all values of i <= j or just for some fixed i and then various values of j, say. Which one do you want?