norm or inner after addition for ITensorNetworks

I am fairly new to Itensors and was working with ItensorNetworks.jl. I wanted to calculate the norm/inner product after addition of two tensors, for example, \psi = \psi_1 + \psi_2. This gives me some weird behaviour that I do not understand.

When I do it on a 2D network having 1 loop the norm of \psi gives 1. But when I increase the network to having more than one loops the norm of \psi seems to be \frac{1}{\sqrt{2^{n-1}}}, where n is the number of loops in the network.

Here is a minimal working example

using LinearAlgebra: norm_sqr
using NamedGraphs: NamedEdge
using NamedGraphs.NamedGraphGenerators: named_grid
g1 = named_grid((2, 2)) #This has 1 loop
g2 = named_grid((3, 2)) #This has 2 loops
g3 = named_grid((3, 3)) #This has 4 loop

s = siteinds("S=1/2", g1)
ψ1 = ITensorNetwork(v -> "↑", s)
ψ2 = ITensorNetwork(v -> "↓", s)
ψ = ψ1 + ψ2
println("Norm when there is one loop=",norm(ψ))

s = siteinds("S=1/2", g2)
ψ = ψ1 + ψ2
println("Norm when there are two loops=",norm(ψ))

s = siteinds("S=1/2", g3)
ψ = ψ1 + ψ2
println("Norm when there are four loop=",norm(ψ))

Furthermore, lets say I normalize ψ by multiplying \sqrt{2^{n-1}}. If I now add another tensor to it in the subsequent step, then irrespective of the number of loops in the network the norm remains 1.

Here is an example that shows this,

using LinearAlgebra: norm_sqr
using NamedGraphs: NamedEdge
using NamedGraphs.NamedGraphGenerators: named_grid

g2 = named_grid((3, 3)) #This has 4 loops
  s = siteinds("S=1/2", g2) 

ψ = ψ1 + ψ2
  println("The norm without normalization=", norm(ψ))

ψ = sqrt(8)*(ψ1 + ψ2)
  println("The norm after normalization=", norm(ψ))

ψ = ψ + ψ2 + ψ1 # This does not require normalization
  println("The norm after doing addition again=", norm(ψ))

So, I am confused about two things: