ITensors indices access and manipulations

hi, thanks for the great work on itensors! I recently started playing around with it and love its features, though I have to say I’m a bit puzzled by the way tensor indices are handled,
in particular, it seems to me that there’s no straightforward way of accessing and playing around with the indices of a given tensor - I understand that for a given tensor I can access those by calling inds(A) , but sometimes I’d like to be able to call an index with a given label, I thought the concept of ‘tags’ would be helpful there but I’m not sure what is the “recommended” way to use them in this context.

A silly example, if I do the SVD of a matrix A_{ij} and get a decomposition as U_{iu} S_{uv} Vd_{vj}, is there a way to access, eg. to relabel or prime it, the “u” index in the matrix U ?
The only way I could think of is to get both indices of U, and then “know” that “u” is the second one - but since labels can in principle float around (as long as they’re attached to the proper leg), I’m afraid that calling inds(U)[2] could give unpredictable results. Is there a way to call the index containing a “u” in its tag instead? Or say I want to extract the index of the physical leg of an MPS matrix, it would be the one containing a “Site” tag.

I was digging through the documentation and I saw the getfirst() function, but its syntax is not clear to me (in particular what the matching function should look like, but maybe that’s my bad since I’m new to julia as well) - is that the intended way to deal with this use case?

1 Like

Good question. Our recommended way of accessing the u index is through the commonind function, for example:

i, j = Index.((2, 2))
A = randomITensor(i, j)
U, S, V = svd(A, i)
u = commonind(U, S)

Then you can use it like:

dag(U) * prime(U, u) # Check if `U` is an isometry