ITensor Multithreading for Dense MPS

Hello,

I am making this post as a following from here.

A bit of context first. I am not a multithreading expert. I have used it a few times before with other languages so I am familiar with the basics of what it is but that’s about it. I’ve not used it before in Julia. So if I say anything incorrect or have something wrong please correct me.

I understand that there are several options for multithreading available to me when using ITensors. In all cases though, my understanding is that I don’t have to actually change my code to implement these options. I just need to specify the available threads and the appropriate package. For example, to take advantage of the BLAS multithreading I need only do the following

using MKL, LinearAlgebra
# before callling julia, do EXPORT MKL_NUM_THREADS=10 or
BLAS.set_num_threads(10) # and make Julia threads are set to 1 so no clashing

and it will “just work”. That is the general idea here as I understand it.

Having said all that, I have tried the following options.

• BLAS multithreading on both Intel & AMD CPUs with MKL (multithreaded by specifying MKL_NUM_THREADS)
  • Octavian on both Intel & AMD CPUs (multithreaded by specifing JULIA_NUM_THREADS)

The most costly operation in all my calculations is the Hadamard product of two MPS. I have to take many of these per time step (more than 50, less than 100). Right now my toy problem size is N=15 which I realize is smaller than the typical problem you’d want to apply Tensor Networks to. I wanted to start small, get the algorithm to a good place, then tackle much larger systems (hopefully that makes sense).

For reference, I am solving PDEs that describe fluid dynamics. So my MPS represent things like velocity fields, temperature fields, etc.