How do you make projective measurements?

Quick summary of my question:

Beginner here looking to simulate a time evolution of an initial state with low entanglement to which local projective measurements, not expectation values, are applied. I know how to do the Hamiltonian time evolution but not the projective measurements.

Further details:

I am interested in a 1D chain of spin-1/2s with a many-body Hamiltonian

H = \sum_n J(X_n X_{n+1} + Y_n Y_{n+1} + Z_n Z_{n+1}) + h Z_n.

I want to evolve an initial state |\psi(0)\rangle, probably using TEBD, from t=0 to t=T. During this evolution, I want to apply many local projective measurements M^{(n)}, at different times, of observables that look like

O^{(1)} = X \otimes \mathbb{I} \otimes \mathbb{I}\otimes \cdots \otimes \mathbb{I}

and store their outcomes (without halting the simulation). This means I will project M^{(1)}:|\psi(t)\rangle\mapsto|\alpha_n^{(1)}\rangle \langle \alpha_n^{(1)}|\psi(t)\rangle with probability |\langle \alpha_n^{(1)}|\psi(t)\rangle|^2, where |\alpha_n^{(1)}\rangle is an eigenstate of O^{(1)}. For this, I need to of course randomly sample the set of |\alpha_n^{(1)}\rangle's each with probability |\langle \alpha_n^{(1)}|\psi(t)\rangle|^2. I haven’t been able to find an example code where I have clearly understood projective measurements like the ones I’m describing were performed and not expectation values like \langle \psi(t) | O^{(1)} |\psi(t)\rangle.

I see that there is a measure! method that can be used for DMRG but I don’t understand why is specific to DMRG, I don’t want/need to use DMRG.

I do realise I must have missed this and I apologise in advance for that, I’m very new to the package!

Regardless, thanks a lot in advance!

Good question, let me answer in two ways.