ground state of a kondo problem with DMRG

Dear ITensors developing team,

I am new to the ITensors package and many thanks for developing it.

I have a problem in finding the ground state with DMRG, julia version of ITensors. I was trying to reproduce the result of a paper: PhysRevB.70.132404.

Background

The system is a cluster of a N-site non-interacting Hubbard ring (c electron) on top of another ring of same size (f electron). The Hamiltonian is

H=\overbrace{t\sum_{<ij>\sigma}c_{i\sigma}^\dagger c_{j\sigma}}^{H_c} +\overbrace{\sum_{i\sigma}\epsilon_f^if_{i\sigma}^\dagger f_{i\sigma}+\sum_iU_if_{i\uparrow}^\dagger f_{i\uparrow}f_{i\downarrow}^\dagger f_{i\downarrow}}^{H_f} +\overbrace{\sum_{i\sigma}V(f_{i\sigma}^\dagger c_{i\sigma}+c_{i\sigma}^\dagger f_{i\sigma})}^{H_I},

where H_c is the nearest neighbor hopping in the c electron layer, H_f is the orbital energy and the Coulomb energy in the f electron layer, and H_I is the inter-layer interaction. In the paper, they did N=6 case, which I reproduced with ED. I want to do larger N, which cannot be done with ED. So I try to use ITensors DMRG.

What I do:

I map the system to an electron chain,

sites = siteinds("Electron", N2; conserve_qns=true)

where the odd (even) sites correspond to the c (f) electrons, N_2=2N. I worked at half-filling, so the electron number is also 2N. And I also fixed the number of up and down spins, so N electrons up and N electrons down.

state = [isodd(n) ? "Up" : "Dn" for n in 1:N2]
psi0 = randomMPS(sites, state, 10)

I setup the dmrg parameters as (based on Preventing-DMRG-from-getting-stuck-in-a-local-minimum and the example codes hubbard_conserve_particles)

nsweeps = 80
maxdim = [32, 50, 50, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600]
noise = [1E-4, 1E-5, 1E-6, 1E-7, 1E-8, 1E-10, 0.0]
cutoff = [1E-10]

with observer

obs = DMRGObserver(; energy_tol=1e-9)

What confuses me: