Custom sweep direction in DMRG

Dear all,

after using a python package for some DMRG-calculations, I wanted to give ITensor in Julia a try. For the specific problem and setting I am looking at, and from previous tries, I got the fastest convergence, with comparable accuracy, if I only did sweeps in one direction, and then redo the canonization after each sweep such that I can start from the same side.

It seems, that the DMRG in ITensor only supports “full” sweeps going forth and back. So I guess, I will have to implement my own version of DMRG. Fortunately, I should be able to modify the existing code. Since I am completely new to ITensor and Julia, I would like to get some advise and clarifications on a few points.

• Would it be sufficient to have my own sweepnext function, that basically just gives out the tuples for one sweep-direction, end then after each sweep call orthogonalize! for the site that I want to start with for the next sweep (e.g. the first site for only sweeps to the right)? The first element of the tuple seems to give out the (first) site of interest and the second the sweep direction.

• At various points in the code, the function checkflux is called. What specifically is its purpose?

• In the struct ProjMPO, are the left and right environments, that are build during the DMRG, saved in the field “LR”? Do I have to change anything to have them build correctly, or are they already build (e.g. by orthogonalizing or calling the position! function)?

• Is there anything else, that I should look out for? Maybe, in terms of efficiency?

Thanks a lot for your comments!

Best,
Arne

PS: It would be super nice, if there was a DMRG-function in ITensor, that would support custom sweep sequences, and handles redoing the canonization if necessary, i.e. if the sweep direction is the same. For example, Quimb in python has this option (but lacks other things, like adding noise, and not to mention the speed).