`apply(::MPO, ::MPO)` is slower on the GPU than on the CPU

Hi ITensor Team!

I am trying to use ITensors.jl for a quantum state tomography task (see this paper). One of the steps requires applying one MPO to another. I am hoping to speed up this step by doing it on the GPU, but found out that doing it on the GPU is actually slower than on the CPU.

I am new to GPU programming, but I was expecting it to be faster for tensor contractions, which is basically what apply is doing. Could I be missing something?

I also noticed this topic, which seems related, but I am not sure whether it’s the same problem.

Minimum code to reproduce what I see

using CUDA
using ITensors
sites = siteinds("Qubit", 6)
c = randomMPO(sites)
apply(c', c)
apply(cc',cc)
@time apply(c', c)#to remove compilation time
cc = cu(c)
apply(cc',cc)#to remove compilation time
@time apply(cc',cc)

Output of minimum code

0.002251 seconds (12.11 k allocations: 3.430 MiB)#CPU
0.184525 seconds (27.28 k allocations: 4.858 MiB)#GPU

Output of versioninfo()

Julia Version 1.6.7
Commit 3b76b25b64 (2022-07-19 15:11 UTC)
Platform Info:
  CPU: 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-11900 @ 2.50GHz
  WORD_SIZE: 64
  LIBM: libopenlibm
  LLVM: libLLVM-11.0.1 (ORCJIT, icelake-client)

Output of using Pkg, Pkg.status("ITensors")

Status `C:\Users\Xi\.julia\environments\v1.6\Project.toml`
  [9136182c] ITensors v0.3.42

Also for the information I am using NVidia GTX3060, with driver version 537.13.

Hi, thanks for the question and glad you’re trying out ITensor.

I think what’s happening in your example is that randomMPO by default (without passing more arguments) makes MPO’s of bond dimension equal to 1. So then it’s a very light computation to contract them. That means the extra possible overhead of working on the GPU might be what your timing is dominated by i.e. one might only expect to see the benefit of a GPU when contracting large tensors coming from larger bond dimension tensor networks.

Miles

Hi Miles,